Erratic forum performance.

Discussion in 'Feedback & Help Forum' started by Swami, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. Ms Southworth

    Ms Southworth Soap Chat Dream Maker

    Message Count:
    1,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,117
    Location:
    Dallas Wonderland
    Ratings:
    +2,608
    And just after I was able to post that message, the server was "off" again ... then "on" ... then "off" ... then "on" ... then "off" ... ... and so forth ... ... ... for about an hour or so! :mad:

    What is going on, @Ome? :think: What is XenForo telling you? :think: Yesterday, I was writing a long PM just as the server broke down! And I lost the whole thing. Do I dare trust again? Or should I just use this forum for very brief messages?

    Please keep us informed about the status of the server! :):):)
     
  2. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    I was testing a few things out, rebuilding the forums and repairing some errors we were generating.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    Not sure why you lost your draft, the site stores these for 24 hours
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Ms Southworth

    Ms Southworth Soap Chat Dream Maker

    Message Count:
    1,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,117
    Location:
    Dallas Wonderland
    Ratings:
    +2,608
    It's my experience so far that the site sometimes saves my drafts! And other times it doesn't!
     
  5. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005



    We just had someone calling themselves MagnumRings..... register with Soap Chat, their favourite show is Modern Family and favourite music artist Allman Brothers



    That said, they didn't manage to get through
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    Sorry about the blip a few minutes ago. Not sure what or why it happened but I repaired the issue and it should be business as usual.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Matthew Blaisdel

    Matthew Blaisdel Soap Chat TV Fanatic

    Message Count:
    1,378
    Trophy Points:
    2,396
    Location:
    past orbit, on the way out of the solar system
    Ratings:
    +2,349
    Member Since:
    sometime 2005 (i guess)
    I have now always a waiting time of about 20 seconds whenever i want to open soapchat.
    In these 20 seconds nothing happens and then the site appears. Soapchat is the only page/forum with that behaviour.
    Does anyone else have that problem too?
     
  8. Ms Southworth

    Ms Southworth Soap Chat Dream Maker

    Message Count:
    1,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,117
    Location:
    Dallas Wonderland
    Ratings:
    +2,608
    Oh yes, ... along with other little issues! :(

    Increased securities at the "gates"? :D
     
  9. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    Can you give me any other info, like does it happen at certain times of the day? If you close your browser down and re-open it does it happen again?

    Once you are here, does it function correctly? Can you jump from forum to forum with no delays?
     
  10. Matthew Blaisdel

    Matthew Blaisdel Soap Chat TV Fanatic

    Message Count:
    1,378
    Trophy Points:
    2,396
    Location:
    past orbit, on the way out of the solar system
    Ratings:
    +2,349
    Member Since:
    sometime 2005 (i guess)
    Yes, once i'm on here, it works properly, even if i close the tab and open a new one right away.
    But when it was closed for a few minutes or i surf to soapchat for the first time after the laptop is switched on, there are constantly those 20 seconds waiting time, day or night.
    So what happens there, maybe a new background-login needs that amount of time and there is some handshake error or issue with that?!
    Because i do get logged out when closing the soapchat tab after some minutes (and logged back in through the cookie, when i come back), right?
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2017
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    Can you remember when this first happened?
     
  12. Ms Southworth

    Ms Southworth Soap Chat Dream Maker

    Message Count:
    1,637
    Trophy Points:
    1,117
    Location:
    Dallas Wonderland
    Ratings:
    +2,608
    Two problems that I've experienced for a long time on and off:

    (1) I get logged off just by switching to a different forum! :frustration:

    (2) I'll be in the middle of writing a message on a thread or in private ... ... and when I hit "send" button, the system asks me to log-on to send it!!! :think:

    There are no patterns that I'm aware off in either of the cases! :confuse: Sometimes, I'm on the run! Other times, I'm at a café! Or I can just be at home!

    "Little" things, yes!!! But definitely annoying stuff that makes my blood pressure go up! :(

    Has anyone else experienced these things?
     
  13. Matthew Blaisdel

    Matthew Blaisdel Soap Chat TV Fanatic

    Message Count:
    1,378
    Trophy Points:
    2,396
    Location:
    past orbit, on the way out of the solar system
    Ratings:
    +2,349
    Member Since:
    sometime 2005 (i guess)
    Few days ago, i really can't be more precise.
    But i checked it already from another internet connection with another operating system (Linux mint, before Win 8) - same thing.
    So there's definitely an issue and it just happened one minute ago again.
     
  14. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    That's good enough, it sounds like it's something to do with the unusual blip (around the connection with our hosting site) we had at the weekend.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Pamela_E

    Pamela_E administrator

    Message Count:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    5,128
    Ratings:
    +98
    Member Since:
    August 1998
    There is a table error, either it's disk space or an add on is causing a problem with the table and they continually need repairing
     
  16. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    Can you not determine which it is?

    I've completed a file health check, rebuilt all caches and repair any errors.
     
  17. Miss Texas 1967

    Miss Texas 1967 Soap Chat Active Member

    Message Count:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    377
    Ratings:
    +449
    I've just had the slow loading issue, white page for a good 20 seconds before loading Soapchat. Not a biggie, it loaded, but it did take a while.
     
  18. Pamela_E

    Pamela_E administrator

    Message Count:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    5,128
    Ratings:
    +98
    Member Since:
    August 1998
    Could be attachment size or a recent addon. Could ask the hosting company if it's maxing out on memory?

    The error looks like memory to me as it's can't write to the tables (as in save info) as far as I can tell.


    What add ons have been added recently or any changes to the skin? If any coding is off then again it could cause slow loading and a fail.
     
  19. Alexis

    Alexis Soap Chat Winner

    Message Count:
    3,952
    Trophy Points:
    1,632
    Ratings:
    +6,493
    Member Since:
    July 2007
    Has the size of pictures that we can post here been reduced. Most times I try and post a pic from google or even my phone I get an error message telling me the file is too big.
     
  20. Ome

    Ome Admin

    Message Count:
    8,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,638
    Ratings:
    +14,813
    Member Since:
    Dec 2005
    The Mood and Signature uploads on 23/10

    There have been no changes to the skin.


    No. It's still at the same setting since we came back last year.

    Do you get the same message when you upload from your computer?
     

Share This Page